THE TEN BEST PAYING IT CERTIFICATES FOR 2024: It can be difficult to choose a professional path and determine which certifications to earn along the route, particularly in the modern workforce. It is crucial to have a career of interest in mind as an IT professional or someone who has chosen to pursue a career in IT, since this enables you to make better career decisions.

Having the appropriate IT certification would help ascertain that you are qualified and fit to perform various tasks within your field. Also, you would be placed at a greater career advantage when compared to an individual who doesn’t have the appropriate certification.

Here is a list of  IT certifications which you can consider below:

Google Cloud Certified Professional Cloud Architect

With a professional cloud architect certification, you would be able to demonstrate an understanding of cloud architecture and google cloud platform. You would also be equipped with skills that enable you to develop and design solutions to drive business objectives.

Google offers certification in cloud architecture for about $200 with no prior experience required. For more information on professional cloud exam, you can visit

Project Management Professional (PMP) Certification

A project management certification is a must-have for people who would like to pursue careers in business as managers and executives. With this type of certification, you are able to plan, create and proffer solutions that are required for business growth.

Usually, a bachelor’s degree is required before obtaining this certification. You would also be required to register and undertake an exam with an accredited body

For further information on project management professional certification in Ghana, you can visit

Microsoft Certified Solutions Expert (MCSE)

You can obtain a Microsoft certified solutions Expert certification across various categories which include Data, cloud, core infrastructure, business applications, etc.

Even if you have little background knowledge as regards this field, you do not need to worry as you would be taught in a step by step manner the various processes and skills you require. You would also be required to write and pass an exam after which you would be given a certificate of completion.

The cost of this certification is usually around $165. For further information on this program visit

Certified Scrum Master (CSM)

This certification gives Scrum practitioner’s a better understanding of project management prerequisites. Skills taught include, understanding scrum values with an emphasis on teamwork, accountability and collectively working towards a well-defined goal.

No prior experience is required for this certification, but you would need to pass the exam at the end of the course.

Additionally, you would be required to renew your license every two years from an accredited scrum master center in Ghana. I would recommend you visit invensis learning for further information regarding the certified scrum master certification program in Ghana.

Certified Information Security Manager (CISM)

Certified Information Security Manager (CISM) is a certification given to professionals involved in information security, assurance, risk management, and governance.

To become certified, you would have to pass the certification exam which focuses on four major areas: information security management, information risk management and compliance, information security program development and management, information security incident management.

I recommend you visit Certified Ghana for further information on CISM certification

Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH)

I am sure you must be wondering what this really means. It might interest you to know that people actually get paid to hack systems.

Their primary aim is to assess the security of computer systems by looking for weaknesses and vulnerabilities in target systems using the same knowledge as a malicious hacker would but in a more lawful manner.

Ethical hackers lookout for security breaches within their security network before someone else discovers and makes use of the breach for malicious purposes.

The validity of this certification can last up to 3yrs with a renewable fee of about $80

There are various online resources to learn this skill but if you would prefer one in your immediate environment, you can visit Cybrary for further knowledge.

Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP)

Having a Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) certification shows that you have a proper understanding of communication and network security, security operations, and software development security.

With this type of certification, you would be able to proffer solutions to security issues that organization might be facing with their software’s.

There are available resources online to learn and prepare you towards earning your certification.

I recommend Udemy or Coursera as they have plenty of materials which students have found very useful.

Certification In Risk And Information Systems Control (CRISC)

Certification in Risk and Information systems control (CRISC) is awarded to IT professionals who identify and manage risks through the development and maintenance of information systems controls.

You would also be able to proffer solutions as regards risk management and systems security with this certification.

You can visit Cybrary for free online training resources towards your CIRSC certification.

AWS Certified Developer- Associate

An AWS Certified Developer- Associate is an individual who has over the years been able to demonstrate proficiency in developing and debugging cloud-based applications using AWS with a proper background understanding of AWS core practices

A certification exam which takes 130 mins is usually required to complete and the fee costs about $150.

Amazon also gives AWS certifications or you can visit Udemy  for free online resource tools to aid your learning process

AWS Certified Solution Architect

You might be wondering how an AWS Certified Developer- Associate is different from an AWS Certified Solution Architect.

Although there are similarities in their work, an AWS Certified Solution Architect is one who is able to demonstrate a knowledge of how to architect and deploy secure applications on AWS technologies. They also help to provide suitable implementation guidance based on best practices to the organization during the project.

If you would like to learn this online Udemy or Cybrary can be a good place to start from or you can visit Unichrone for more information about their classes and lecture schedules in Ghana.


I hope this list helps you with making decisions that suit your career path in the IT profession, but you should also know that you would need to take and pass certification exams which are subject to renewal either on a biannual basis or as specified by the awarding organization.

Leave a Comment